Friday, July 1, 2022

Where a New File Goes When You Create it in Google Drive

Submitted by Nicholas

We hear that there has been some confusion when using Google Drive, so I would like to clarify.

While using Google Drive, if you click on the New button in the top left and create a new file (like a Google Docs document), the new file will be created in whatever location you are currently viewing in the Google Drive window if you have the ability to create files in that location. This may not necessarily be your My Drive. If you are viewing a Shared Drive, please remember that anyone else who has access to that drive will be able to see any documents that you create there.

In the example image below, if I clicked on the New button and created a new Google Doc, it would be created in the IT shared drive, not my My Drive.

If you want to make sure that you are creating documents in your My Drive, make sure to navigate back to it in the left-hand navigation pane before creating a new document. Your My Drive is always above all of your Shared drives.



Please submit a ticket or contact IT if you have any Google-related questions.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you, Nicholas! This happened to me just this week and I know it has happened to a number of other people as well. My new Google Drive mantra is to ALWAYS click "My Drive" before creating anything new in Google.

    ReplyDelete